Close Menu Element

Mobile Search Element

Mobile Portals

School Name

Left Header

Top Portals

Right Header

Graphic includes circle headshots of each of the 10 Teacher of the Year for Dare County Schools
Hannah Nash
Dare County Schools 2024-2025 Teachers of the Year graphic with teacher headshots.

Dare County Schools is proud to announce the recipients of the 2024-2025 Teacher of the Year awards. This award recognizes exceptional educators who have demonstrated outstanding dedication, skill, and commitment to their students and school community.

The following teachers were nominated and chosen by their peers in the spring to hold their school’s Teacher of the Year title for the 2024-2025 school year.

Dare County Schools Teachers of the Year:

  • Cape Hatteras Elementary: Beverly Hagy
  • Cape Hatteras Secondary: Alicia Minns
  • First Flight Elementary: Jennifer Kresicki
  • First Flight Middle: Trasa Rossi
  • First Flight High: Hunter Anderson
  • Kitty Hawk Elementary: Elizabeth Ryan
  • Manteo Elementary: Jordan Reekes
  • Manteo Middle: Zach Alexander
  • Manteo High: Emily DiNoto
  • Nags Head Elementary: Lauren Dibble Bradshaw

Dare County Schools Superintendent Steve Basnight praised the awardees, stating, “It is an incredible honor to congratulate this group of outstanding educators. Each of these Teachers of the Year were recognized by their peers for making a significant impact in the lives of their students, which speaks volumes about the quality of educators in Dare County Schools. Thank you for your daily example, your commitment to raising the bar, and for your willingness to work for our students.”

Each recipient was selected based on their outstanding performance, innovative teaching methods, and their ability to engage and inspire students.

A committee, consisting of former teachers of the year, licensed teachers and support staff from across the district, will conduct interviews with each school’s representative on July 30 to determine the Teacher of the Year for the entire district. The chosen Teacher of the Year will be formally announced at Dare County School’s convocation in August and move on to represent the district in the regional finals.

The mission of the North Carolina Teacher of the Year Program is to promote the profession through advocacy and support while recognizing outstanding teaching professionals who are implementing best practices in classrooms across North Carolina.